

IOI-CANADA

WORKSHOP SCHEDULE: OCEAN GOVERNANCE FOR INDIGENOUS PEOPLES $23^{rd} - 27^{th}$ October 2023

Registration and Meet & Greet: 5.00-7.00 p.m. on Sunday. Late registration: from 8.30 a.m. on Monday.

Guiding principles:			
Integrity, Reciprocity, Respect, Interaction			
DAY 1 Monday 23 rd October			
9.00 – 10.30		Grand Chief Norman Sylliboy	
Break	Opening Ceremonies	Chief Hugh Akagi Ms Cathy Martin (via Zoom)	
10.45 – 12.00		Mr Michael Butler	
Lunch			
1.00 - 2.45			
Break	Introduction to Ocean Governance, Law of the Sea, UNDRIP, Laws, Treaties, Acts and Social Equity	Ms Rosalie Francis Dr Sherry Pictou	
3.00 - 4.30	1,		
DAY 2 Tuesday 24 th October			
9.00 – 10.30			
Break	History, Archaeology, Legends and Oral Traditions	Mr Kerry Prosper Chief Hugh Akagi	
10.45 – 11.30		Cinci Hugii i mugi	
Lunch			
12.30 – 5.30	Field trip: Sustainable Blue Fish Farming, Centre Burlington	Mr David Roberts Mr Justin Rogers	

DAY 3 Wednesday 25 th October			
9.00 – 10.30		Chief Hugh Akagi	
Break	Salmon Governance, Restoration and Conservation	Dr Shelley Denny Mr Barry Labillois	
10.45 – 12.00		Mr Donald Humphrey	
Lunch			
1.00 - 2.45		Dr Shelley Denny	
Break	Rights-based Fisheries: Lobsters and Eels	Dr Courtenay Parlee (via Zoom) Dr Jill Campbell-Miller	
3.00 – 4.30		Di Jili Campoen-Minei	
DAY 4 Thursday 26 th October			
9.00 – 10.30		Ms Leah McConney	
Break	Indigenous Protected and Conservation Areas (IPCAs)	Mr Darran O'Leary	
10.45 – 11.30		Ms Sherilyn Young (via Zoom)	
Lunch			
1.00 – 4.30	Field trip: Maritime Museum of the Atlantic and Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization, Halifax	Dr Roger Marsters Ms Amber Laurie Ms Ellen McLaren Ms Brynhildur Benediktsdóttir Ms Jana Aker Mr Tom Blasdale	
DAY 5 Friday 27 th October			
9.00 – 10.30	Health of the Ocean and Us	Dr Peter Wells	
Break			
10.45 – 11.30	Future Opportunities: Offshore Wind	Mr Jim Wooder (via Zoom) Ms Victoria Watson (via Zoom)	
11.30 – 12.15	Future Opportunities: Tidal Power	Ms Sandra Currie	
Lunch			
12.30 – 1.30	Debrief, Closing Ceremonies and Awarding of Certificates	Chief Hugh Akagi Mr Michael Butler	